I finally summoned the courage to put away your eating and drinking bowl from where it was for years; right next to the wall leading to the balcony. And my heart filled as I emptied the water bowl that you had your last sip of water from.

You were smaller than the palm of my hand when I first brought you home. You did not grow big but you did grow bigger in our hearts. Our first dog, an extension of our family. You were given the name, ‘Eve’, but you liked being called ‘Kanchhi’, just like our youngest sister.

2 weeks and counting. And, I still, whenever I open the door to our home, I still wish it is your bark I hear first and your wagging tail I see. Only if wishes come true. But you are gone. The sofa you slept on, the table edges you chewed, your blankets remind and even the hand woven Chakati you basked on are reminding me every bit of you and every day.

And I love that feeling but I hate the emptiness that follows.

To close your eyes was the hardest thing that I had to do. Somewhere deep down, I wanted to see those sparkling dark eyes blink as they always did. Your lifeless body was the heaviest thing I had to carry. Never had I known carrying a lifeless body would be that difficult and you did not even grow that big and yet my body was exhausted after carrying you.

As my sister told me and mother repeated, “She will reincarnate as a human, a beautiful and a sassy one.” And, I don’t want to defy either of them.

You were beautiful.

Thank you for everything.I miss you.

Kanchhi (Evee)

24 Feb 2021

Leave a comment